Chicken Roulade

Posted on December 11, 2009. Filed under: Chicken |


I have ben sort of neglecting posting anything that resembles a real meal. With Christmas, my mind is focused on baking and sweets. Which isn’t the worst thing in the world since we have a HUGE sweet tooth. I think I could live in peanut M&M’s. Is there something wrong with that? But, we need some substance in our diet too. I need fuel for the freezing cold morning runs during the cold southern California winter months. A good dinner the night before a run is essential! Peppermint marshmallows or gingerbread just doesn’t always cut it for sustainability.

Whenever I see pictures of rolled chicken or chicken roulade, I want to make it! It just looks so pretty to serve. Whenever we have dinner guests I always think about what to serve. What do I have time to make and what have I been wanting to make. Chicken Roulade. Perfect, I can pack it with veggies and wrap it in proscuitto. Yum! I didn’t really use a recipe. So I will say what I used, but as far as a recipe, there isn’t one. It is super easy though, you really don’t need a specific recipe.

Serves 6-8
4 chicken breasts, split in half lengthwise
1 1/32 cups filling (I used spinach, artichoke pesto, sour cream and parmesan)
8 pieces proscuitto
salt, pepper, olive oil

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray non stick spray on a jelly roll pan or glass baking dish.

Pound out the chicken breasts between 2 pieces of parchment paper. Pound them out to about 1/2 and inch thick. Spread 1-2 tbsp of the filling on the chicken. Season with salt and pepper as necessary. Roll it up, starting at the large end rolling towards the small end. Wrap 1 piece of prosciutto around each rolled chicken breast. Place the chicken, seem side down, in the pan. Brush a thin coat of olive oil over the prosciutto.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Until the chicken is no longer pink (I cut a small slice in the middle of one of the pieces to check.)

Serve with risotto, creamed spinach, mashed potatoes, polenta, or sauteed green beans.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...