Hollandaise Sauce

Posted on November 9, 2009. Filed under: Breakfast, vegetables |

I will start by saying this, I am not a huge fan of hollandaise sauce. I can’t eat a lot of butter b/c of the dairy. And I really don’t like egg yolks. If they are scrambled with the whites they are fine. But concentrated for a sauce, it just doesn’t work with me. However, I know my dad and husband like eggs benedict, which has a hollandaise sauce on top. And my family was coming over for lunch on Sunday afternoon. So I decided it might be a nice treat to do a somewhat traditional eggs benedict.

When I say somewhat traditional, I hold that term very loosely. I basically made a breakfast casserole and just smothered hollandaise sauce after plating each portion. It turned out so well though. Everyone enjoyed it very much. Even my step-grandmother (is that a technical term?) who is an extraordinary cook and baker. If it was delicious to her, then it must be a great recipe. Oh, well, it is from Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child. So I knew it would be good, assuming I didn’t mess it up.

Hollandaise Sauce (Blender Method)
5 eggs yolks
1 stick butter
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Melt the butter in a small sauce pan.

While the butter is melting, pulse the egg yolks in a blender on high for 2 seconds. Add the lemon juice, salt and pepper and pulse.

Slowly stream in the butter (slowly is the key word. if you do it too fast the hot butter will scramble the eggs). This will take about 3-4 minutes. Blending as you add the butter. The more you blend it the thicker the sauce will be come.

After all the butter was added, I still blended it for about 30 extra seconds. And then step-grandmother said, ‘That looks like the perfect consistency.’ So I stopped.

To keep the sauce warm, I put the sauce in a gravy boat and set it on the stove. The casserole was cooking in the oven, so the stove was just hot enough to keep the hollandaise warm, but not to cook the eggs.
I served some steamed aspragus with lunch, and the sauce was perfect over it!
Our lunch feast. Roasted Butternut Sqaush and Carrots, Fruit Salad, Gingerbread Cake, Steamed Aspragus and Eggs Benedict Casserole.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

