Dining in Orange

Posted on September 3, 2009. Filed under: Restaurant Recommendations |

Last night we went to Orange for some Sushi. Some friends attended Chapman University a few years ago and wanted to take us to their favorite Sushi place that they went to when they were in college. It is anything extravagant. It is just a little hole in the wall, much like most of the restaurants in Orange.
What I love about random sushi places is their original rolls. For instance, our favorite sushi place is Laguna Hills (You and I Sushi off Alicia Pkwy) has a ‘You and I’ roll. It is Jon’s favorite roll, ever! Last night at Tokyo Cafe I ordered a New York Roll. A California Roll topped with Tuna and Avocado, with an apple inside with the crab! Totally original. And so delicious. So even though it was just an average sushi place, there were aspects that were so great! And well worth the drive! There are a few other places in Orange that are wonderful that deserve some mention.

Tokyo Cafe– Sushi
Lunch and Dinner
161 N Glassell St
Orange, CA 92866
(714) 639-9536
Normal sushi prices. Normal sushi menu. The things that were incredible: Volcano Roll, New York Roll, Orange Chicken Bowl, Milk Boba Tea. I don’t even like Boba, but this won me over! Pretty much my only gripe is that they close at 9. It is a college town, and they close that early? Weird!

Rutabegorz- Healthy, Hodge Podge
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, closed Sundays
264 N Glassell Street
Orange, CA 92866
(714) 633-3260
www.rutabegorz.com
I love the little location right across the street from Chapman. And their food is so fresh and light. Pretty much everything is good. A great ‘go to’ place. Very reasonably priced too. They have a monthly $1 appetizer special. Try it!

Yen Ching- Chinese
574 S Glassell St
Orange, CA 92866
(714) 997-3300
www.yenchingoc.com
Lunch and Dinner
We went here about 5 years ago. I haven’t been there since because I couldn’t remember where it was. Our old pastor took us there, he drove, so I was completely unaware of what direction he had gone. Well last night when we were driving through Orange, we passed it. I got SO excited. The Shrimp with Glazed Walnuts, the bomb! I can’t wait to go there again, soon!

Felix Continental Cafe- Cuban
36 Plaza Sq
Orange, CA 92866
(714) 633-5842
www.felixcontinentalcafe.com
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
I ate there a few years ago. Loved it. On a run this morning with my friend I was talking about how much I love Orange and their eclectic options for food. She immediately said, “My favorite Cuban food is in orange, right in the circle.” This place is great. Go and try it for yourself.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

