Breakfast in Costa Mesa

Posted on September 2, 2009. Filed under: Restaurant Recommendations |

I don’t think I can ever emphasis enough how great the food choices are in Costa Mesa. There is every cuisine possible and tons of options for every meal of the day. One of my favorite breakfast food options is a breakfast burrito.

Generally I eat relatively healthy. But when it comes to a b-fast burrito, all rules go out the window. I want a huge lard ridden flour tortilla with eggs, bacon, cheese, sausage and potatoes and beans. If there is an option of avocado and tomato, I will take it! Romans in CM off Newport BLVD is the way to go for this!

Let’s be honest, how often do I really let myself indulge this intensely? Rarely. Most of the time I order something more along the lines of an egg white omelet with as many veggies as they will allow me to.

All this being said, I have eaten my fair share of different items at different places in Costa Mesa. And here are my thoughts on them:

Eat Chow
1802 Newport Blvd
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
(949) 650-2469
www.eatchownow.com
I actually haven’t been here for breakfast yet. But they do have an egg white burrito on the menu, holla! I have been for here dinner. And it was great. The food is very reasonably priced and it tastes very fresh and light (2 entrees and the fries were $20). They were just reviewed in the Westways Magazine that AAA puts out as having the best french dip sandwich around.
If you go for dinner, try the trufle Parmesan fries. We loved them.
And we love that they are just a little local place attached to a clothing store. Friendly service too.

Plums
369 E 17th St
Ste 7
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
(949) 722-7586
www.plumscafe.com
If you want to pay close to $15 for breakfast, then hit it up. But I don’t find it extraordinary. I’m not saying it is bad, just not so great that I wouldn’t spend 20 minutes waiting and then pay that much money. They do have creative dishes, that are very fresh. And I do appreciate that. I just wish they didn’t charge so much.

Mimi’s
1835 Newport Blvd
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
(949) 722-6722
www.mimiscafe.com
I had to throw this on the list. Yes, their service sucks. But as long as you go there knowing that, then you won’t be disappointed when no one greets you for a few minutes. The thing is, for what you pay, you get a lot of food. And some of their dishes are really tasty. Order these items:
Banana Chocolate Chip Muffin
Pumpkin Pancakes
Tuscan Vegetable Omelet
Two “AA” Large Eggs (Such a good deal)
Low fat Fitness Omelet
Fresh Asparagus Omelet
Oatmeal (beware, the ‘granola’ is crushed nature valley granola bars)

Romans Market
2400 Newport Blvd
Ste A3
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
(949) 548-5534
Best dang b-fast burritos around. And cheap!

Omelette Parlor
179 E 17th Street
Ste A
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
(949) 645-0740
www.costamesaomeletteparlor.com
People love this place. It is a very mom and pop breakfast joint. It is good, reasonably priced. For sure a great place to get some comfort food.

Dick Churches
2698 Newport Blvd
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
(949) 646-7762
www.dickchurchrestaurant.com
Awful Awful Awful. My brother and I went there the morning after Thanksgiving. It was disgusting. We went there only because we had driven by it a million times and felt like we should probably try it out at some point. I am glad I got it out of my system to try it. Since then, almost a year later, I have never had the desire to go back.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

