Quiche Extravaganza

Posted on March 17, 2009. Filed under: Breakfast |

I made 3 quiches last night, all different kinds. There are 2 reasons for this: 1. my friend is getting married in 2 1/2 weeks, and I wanted to make a wedding morning breakfast for all of us. And she loves quiche! 2. I have gobs and gobs of leftover spinach salad and cheese from a wedding I catered last weekend. So all I needed was the pie crust and eggs. Which, to make the 3 quiches, I ended up only spending an extra $9. Which is the cost of a burrito and drink at Baja Fresh. This was a good bargain! I baked them and let them cool. Then I wrapped them up and am storing them in the freezer until I am ready to use them. And to make all 3, and bake them, only took an hour.

I started off with the same egg base for all the quiche. And then modified it from there.

Quiche Egg base:
4-5 large eggs (depending on how deep your pie crust is)
1/2 c. 1% milk
1 c. non fat cottage cheese (I like Knudsen because it is more dense)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

Greek Pasta QuicheCostco makes an incredible greek pasta salad in their deli section. I had about 2 gallon zip lock bags full. So I used them in a quiche. It already had the olives, italian dressing for seasoning, feta, mozzarella, chicken, artichoke, tomatoes and onions. So I put a layer of the pasta, about 1 1/2 cups on the bottom of the unbaked pie crust. Then I put a small layer of Jack Cheese. I mixed 2 cups of chopped spinach into the eggs, and poured that on top of the cheese. Then I top it off with a little bit of the pasta mixture all chopped up, and a little more Jack Cheese.

Bake it for about 45 minutes. or until the center is set. let it rest for about 5 minutes, then slice and serve

Spinach Quiche
Again with Costco and their incredible deli section…They have a spinach salad that has bacon, mushrooms, mozzarella cheese, tomatoes and onions. So I just chopped up all the ingredients from here for this quiche.

1 unbaked pie crust
2 cups fresh spinach chopped
hand full of cherry tomatoes, chopped
handful of sliced mushrooms, chopped
handful of red onion, chopped
1 1/2 c. mozzarella cheese
handful bacon bits from he salad

I layered the quiche in the pie crust: 1/2 the cheese, mushrooms, onions, spinach, tomatoes, and then poured the eggs all on top and topped with the remaining cheese.

Bake for about 45 minutes, or until the quiche is set and golden brown. Rest for 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

Crust less Salmon Tomato Quiche
I used a glass pie dish. It is so easy!
1 small can pink salmon, in water drained
1 can diced tomatoes, drained
1 small can artichoke hearts, drained, chopped
1 1/2 c. muenster cheese

I sprayed the pie dish with non stick spray. Then I poured about 1/2 of the egg mixture into the dish. I poured the tomatoes, salmon and artichokes and half of the cheese on top of the egg mixture. Then poured the rest of the eggs on top. And then topped it all off with the remaining cheese.

Bake for 45 minutes, or until the center is set. Rest for 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

