Vegetable Soup

Posted on March 3, 2009. Filed under: Soups, vegetables |

I caught the cold that has been going around. I had dodged it for weeks. But it finally got me. I stayed home from work on Monday and did not want to go to the grocery store to refill my supply of chicken noodle soup. I didn’t have any chicken thawed to make my own soup. But I did have tons of random veggies and herbs. Being the resourceful cook that I am, I went for a vegetable soup. And it turned out wonderful.

Serve 4 (or 2 days worth of soup for 1 sick person)
7 cups vegetable or chicken stock
2 can diced tomatoes, in juice
1/2 red onion, chopped
4 carrots, sliced
1/2 lb asparagus, chopped into 1 inch spears
1 head green cabbage
2 c. chopped bell pepper (any color)
3 tbsp chopped fresh dill
2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced

I just threw all the ingredients in a stock pot in high for about 1 1/2 hours, then turned it on low for about 1-2 hours. I don’t know exactly how long I had it on high and low, it was in between naps.

It may look like a lot of work to chop all the veggies when you are sick. But it isn’t. At some point during the day when I’m sick, I usually have a small spurt of energy, and this is what I did with it.

And really, when you are sick you need all this nutrition. You will feel so much better after you eat a bowl of this, then if you had canned chicken noodle soup. Throw some diced cooked chicken breasts in here for some more protein. But it is a very filling great soup.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

