Spaghetti Squash Carrerole

Posted on February 12, 2009. Filed under: Chicken, Pasta, vegetables |

I have never made spaghetti squash before. I did eat it about 8 years ago at my aunt’s house in New York when I was visiting. I liked it then. I have just never actually tried to make it. Until now! I have been more adventurous in my cooking lately. Mainly because I want to have something to post on here other then the very standard normal things I cook most often.
We are going to be eating the casserole for dinner tonight. But I started the prepping last night. Which is really no prepping at all. Last night I just cut the squash in half and baked it, and removed the insides and put them in the fridge. So now tonight all I will have to do is put all the ingredients together and bake it.

Serves 4
1 medium spaghetti squash
1 can diced tomatoes in juice
2 c. chopped broccoli
2 c. roasted chicken, chopped. (Costco and Henry’s have great ones for cheap)
1 tbsp dried basil
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1/4 c. white wine
1 1/2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 c. parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
Cut the squash in half. Lengthwise or height wise.
Place the squash, open side down, in a baking dish. Fill the baking dish with about 1inch of water. *This will help sort of steam the squash and keep it really moist.
Bake for 1 hour. Then flip the squash. Bake for another 30 minutes or so. Until the squash is tender, and can be scooped out easily. Allow the squash cool just enough so you can handle it.

Scoop and discard the seeds.

Scrape out the ‘spaghetti’ and place it in a medium bowl. At this point you can either cover the dish and refrigerate it until the following night when you want to use it, or you can just keep following the steps.

Mix the chopped broccoli, chicken, can of tomatoes, white wine, garlic powder, basil, salt and pepper into the squash.

In a 9 x9 greased baking dish, add half of the spaghetti squash mixture. Then add 1/2 c. mozzarella cheese, then the rest of the spaghetti squash mix.
Then top it all with the remaining mozzarella and parmesan. I didn’t bake mine long enough. I should have cooked it for about 10 minutes longer. Just so the cheese was a little more brown.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Or until cheese is brown and bubbly. Serve immediately.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

