Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheesecake

Posted on January 28, 2009. Filed under: Chocolate, Desserts |

In February I am hosting 2 bridal showers. For 2 different brides. I like to be creative, efficient, ad resourceful. Which means I try to double up recipes and make as much as possible at one time, and freeze the rest. I also like to see what I can create out of whats on hand.

I had a huge brick of cream cheese from Costco and some oreo’s from Costco. I always have eggs, sugar and butter on hand. So I was set for my cheesecake adventure. The next decision is what flavor I am going to make. I looked through my cupboards and found some peanut butter, chocolate chips, and Reese’s candy bars. I had to search through my recipes to find a plain cheesecake recipe that I could modify with my extra ingredients. I also try to use low fat or lite ingredients whenever it won’t compromise the quality of the food. And in a cheesecake, a lite or low fat sour cream and cream cheese will not compromise the flavor. Non-fat would compromise the taste though. So I do not use that. I hate that I don’t have a picture of this. But oh well, just more of an excuse to make it again 🙂 It is best if all ingredients are at room temperature. It helps them blend better and bake more evenly.

Serves 12 to 14
Crust
1. c crushed oreos
1/4 c. melted butter

Filling
24 ounces cream cheese
3 eggs
1/2 c. lite sour cream
3/4 c. peanut butter (natural style, no sugar)
1/3 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 c. crushed reese’s peanut butter cups

1 c. crushed oreo’s for garnish
Hershey’s chocolate sauce for garnish

Pre heat oven to 450
Line a 9 inch Spring form pan with parchment paper.
Mix the melted butter and oreos and press them into the bottom and partially up the sides of the pan. Put it in the freezer to harden.

Mix the cream cheese in a stand mixer until it is smooth and creamy. Add the sugar, and eggs 1 at a time. Add the sour cream and vanilla.

In a microwave safe bowl, melt the chocolate chips. When they are melted, fold in 1 c. of the cheesecake mixture. Set it aside.

Mix in the 3/4 c. peanut butter to the rest of the cheesecake mixture in the mixer bowl. Mix until just blended. About 15 seconds.

Pour the chocolate cheesecake mixture onto cheesecake crust. Sprinkle the crushed reeses onto the chocolate mixture. Then pour the peanut butter cheesecake mix on top of that.

Bake for 15 minutes at 450. then lower the temperature to 350 or 1 hour. or until he cheesecake is set. Once it is set. Turn off the temperature, and crack the oven door. Let the cheesecake sit in the oven another hour. If it is starting to burn, take it out. This process will allow the inside of the cheesecake to continue cooking, without burning the outside.

Let the cheesecake cool completely. Once it is cooled, cover it and place it in the refrigerator overnight, or for 8 hours before serving.

Make a mound of crushed Reeses and drizzle chocolate on top of the cheesecake. Then slice and serve. you can serve it with ice cream and/or whip cream also. It is rich!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Categories

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

